The Macabracadabra Feast

The macabracadabra feast is an invented feast in which you can decide whether or not to participate.

A smoking black ceramic pig wraps me in an intense smell that I have felt somewhere before. The memory transports me to other times and spaces, an ancient and heavy smell like the one I felt every Sunday.

I enter. A large sculpture catches my attention, it looks like a caravan but is mounted on a wheelbarrow. What would contain such an object ? I look at all the figures that undulate on the black skin looking for a possible opening. Internal and external constellations of an esoteric language that I want to know more about. 

Dragons, pointed hands, invisible animals...

Moreover I see peppers, bells, curious objects. There is no doubt about its occult content. I imagine a rich procession following it, I imagine colorful dresses, festive sounds, unbelievable masks.

A series of strange bells attract me, I like to play them while listening to the different variations of sounds. They disturb and fascinate me in the same time, they are a little scary with their monstrous shapes and sharp teeth. They are not reassuring, just the opposite of the time marked by the church bells.

On the other side seven dolls made of salt dough are watching me. Richly decorated, between ex-voto and voodoo dolls, it seems each owns a soul and a personality and that they can suddenly start talking.

In Abruzzo, there is a old wedding ritual in which many couples dance around a post and everyone hold a ribbon which is linked to the top of the post. if the ribbons get tangled, it means that the wedding will not work. I see a votive tree, which reminds me of this ritual. I see that it is built with links, knots, ribbons. They are very tangled. Suddenly I am disturbed by the presence of razor blades at the end of the ribbons that make any dance impossible.

La fête macabracadabra

La fête macabracadabra est une fête inventée à laquelle vous pouvez décider ou non de participer.

 

Un cochon en céramique noire fumant m’enveloppe d’une odeur intense que j’ai déjà sentie quelque part. La mémoire me transporte dans d’autres temps et espaces, une odeur ancienne et lourde comme celle que je sentais chaque dimanche.

 

J’entre. Une grande sculpture retient mon attention, elle ressemble à une caravane mais elle est montée sur une brouette. Que porterait un tel objet? Je regarde toutes les figures qui ondulent à la surface à la recherche d’une éventuelle ouverture. Constellations internes et externes d’un langage ésotérique auquel je souhaite m’initier. 

Des dragons, des mains pointues, des animaux invisibles...

En plus je vois des piments, des clochettes, des objets curieux. Il n’y a aucun doute sur son contenu occulte. J’imagine une riche procession qui la suit, j’imagine des robes colorées, des sons festifs, des masques incroyables.

 

Une série de cloches étranges m’attire, j’aime les faire sonner en écoutant les différentes variations de sons. Elles me dérangent et me fascinent, elles font un peu peur avec ces formes monstrueuses et ces dents pointues. Elles ne sont pas rassurantes, tout le contraire du temps marqué par les cloches de l’église.

 

De l’autre côté sept poupées en pâte à sel m’observent. Richement décorées, entre ex-voto et fétiches vaodous, il me semble que chacune a une âme et une personnalité et qu’elles peuvent soudainement se mettre à parler.

 

Dans les Abruzzes, à l’occasion d’un mariage, plusieurs couples dansent autour d’un poteau et si les rubans s’emmêlent, cela signifie que le mariage ne fonctionnera pas. Je vois un arbre votif, qui me rappelle ce rituel. Je vois qu’il est construit avec des liens, des nœuds, des rubans. Ils sont complètement enchevêtrés. Je suis perturbée par la présence de lames de rasoir au bout des rubans qui rendent toute danse impossible